# 2008 Army War College Award winners

# 2008 Army War College Award winners

Madigan Writing Awards

#### **Articles**

- **Dr. Tami Davis Biddle (DNSS)** "Shield and Sword: U.S. Strategic Forces and Doctrine Since 1945"
- **Dr. Conrad C. Crane (AHEC)** "Minting COIN: Principles and Imperatives for Combating Insurgency"
- Dr. Antulio J. Echevarria II (SSI) "Clausewitz and the Nature of the War on Terror"
- **Dr. Paul Rexton Kan (DNSS)** "Drugging Babylon: The Illegal Narcotics Trade and Nation-Building in Iraq"
- Mr. John F. Troxell (CSL/OGD) "Presidential Decision Directive-56: A Glass Half Full"
- Dr. Marybeth Ulrich (DNSS) "Ukraine's Military Between East and West"

#### **Books**

Dr. Antulio J. Echevarria II (SSI)—Clausewitz in the Twenty-First Century

## Newly Appointed Tenure

- Col. Joel Hillison
- Col. Michael McMahon
- Col. Robert Nye
- Col. Dean Stodter
- Col. John Tisson

### Title X Faculty Promotions

- Dr. Tami Biddle
- Dr. Larry Goodson
- Dr. Al Stolberg
- Dr. Kevin Weddle
- Dr. Rich Meinhart
- Prof. Ed Filiberti

- **Dr. James Gordon** General of the Armies John J. Pershing Chair of Military Planning and Operations
- Dr. Kevin Weddle General Maxwell D. Taylor Chair of the Profession of Arms

# **Dedicated Chairs**

- Prof. Anthony Williams Francis W. DeSerio Chair of Strategic and Theater Intelligence
- Dr. Mark Grimley Harold K. Johnson Chair of Military History
- Col. Jeffrey Caton Transformation Chair

U.S. Army War College Archives - News Article - 05 January 2009