Army War College graduates honored for scholastic achievement

Army War College grads



receive scholastic awards

During the U.S. Army War College Resident Class of 2014 graduation ceremony, Friday, June 6, students were honored for receiving writing and speech awards. The competitive level of excellence in writing achievement was determined by a panel of Army War College chair holders.

Army Lt. Col. Bradford John Davis – 1stPlace Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff National Defense and Military Strategy Essay Competition, for "Opportunities in Understanding China's Approach to the Senkaku/Diaoyu Islands"

Army Reserve Lt. Col. Nicole S. Jones – 2ndPlace Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff National Defense and Military Strategy Essay Competition for "Adapting International Law for Cyberspace"

Maj. Gen. Tony Cucolo (left) congratulates awardee UK Col. Michael Butterwick, as Provost Dr. Lance Betros

looks on.

Army Col. Timothy D. Brown – 3rdPlace Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff National Defense and Military Strategy Essay Competition for "RAF Enhanced: A New Concept for Whole of Government Solutions"

Army Lt. Col. Richard Debany- The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Sustaining the Army Organic Industrial Base in the Post-Afghanistan Conflict Era"

Air Force Lt. Col. Chad J. Hartman - The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Illusions of Prescriptive Control: Understanding Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance Operations"

Army Lt. Col. Donald W. Hurst III - The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Managing the Defense Industrial Base: A Long-Term Strategic Approach"

USAWC Foundation CEO Ruth Collins congratulates Lt. Col. Brad Davis upon receipt of his writing award in the Joint Chiefs of Staff writing competition. Dr. Richard Lacquement, dean of the School of Strategic Landpower,



Army Col. Jeffrey A. Klein - The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Challenges in the South China Sea: Opportunities through ASEAN"

Army Col. Kevin Julius Quarles -

The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Geospatial Information: The Future of Situational Awareness During Complex Catastrophes"

Army Col. Deydre S. Teyhen - The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Professional Soldier Athlete: The Cornerstone of Strategic Landpower's Human Dimension" **Col. Michael Robert Butterwick, United Kingdom** - AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for "Conflict Prevention: A Cautionary Tale"

Brig. Gen. Ahsan Gulrez, Pakistan - AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for "Pakistan-China Strategic Relations: Moving into the 21st Century" and the Carlisle Barracks and Cumberland Valley Chapter of the Association of the U.S. Army (AUSA) Award for Excellence in Public Speaking for "Non-Kinetic Warfare: The Strategy for the 21st Century"

Air Force Col. William B Mosle III - AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for "A Strategic Guide to Achieve Sustainable Modernization"

Army Col. Stephen C. Rogers - AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for "Learning Trust: A Leadership Lesson From Twelve Years at War"

Air Force Lt. Col. Mark E. Blomme – AWC Foundation Colonel Jerry D. Cashion Memorial Writing Award for "On Theory of War and Warfare"

Army Lt. Col. Steven R. Berger – AWC Foundation Colonel Francis J. Kelly Counterinsurgency Writing Award for "The Sinai, Salafi-Jihadism and its Growing Threat to the Middle East"

Army National Guard Lt. Col. Michael D. Smith - AWC Foundation Daniel M. Lewin Cyber-Terrorism Technology Writing Award for "Defending the Digital Dollar Domain: Why Sharing is Caring"

Army Lt. Col. Robert A. O'Brien IV - AWC Foundation Anton Myrer Strategic Leadership Writing

Award for "A Return to Personal Leadership in the Digital Age"

Army Col. Mark E. Orwat - Armed Forces





Communications-Electronics Association (AFCEA) Writing Award for "Touch Points in Emerging Capabilities: Cyber, Space, and Special Operations"

Air Force Lt. Col. Jon C. Wilkinson - Defense Logistics Agency Excellence in Logistics Writing Award for "The Resurrection of Adaptive Planning"

Army Lt. Col. Kevin Lambert - Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Writing Award for "Integration of Women into Maneuver, Fires, and Effects Career Fields"

Army Col. Kenneth L. Kamper - The AWC Foundation Lifetime Alumni Membership Award. Kamper is the President of the Class of 2014.

Army Col. Michael James Daniels - Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Writing Award for "Power, Politics, and Process: Issues in U.S. Grand Strategy"

Col. Deydre S. Teyhen receives her award from Foundation CEO Ruth Collins.

For the graduation ceremony article: http://www.carlisle.army.mil/banner/article.cfm?id=3526

U.S. Army War College Archives - News Article - 12 June 2014