Army War College faculty recognized for accomplishments, expertise

by Thomas Zimmerman

Army War College faculty recognized for accomplishments, expertise



Madigan Writing Award winners Dr. Clayton Chun, Dr. Paul Kan, Dr. Marybeth Ulrich, Prof. Charles Allen, Dr. Steven Metz and Dr. Antulio Echevarria, II, pose for a photo with retired Lt. Col. Charlotte Kinney, Military Officers Association of America representative after the faculty awards ceremony Dec. 17.

For more photos go here

Watch the ceremony online here

Dec. 17 – Nineteen members of the U.S. Army War College faculty were presented awards that recognized their diverse expertise and research and writing skills during a ceremony in Bliss Hall Dec. 17.

"They are a talented and committed body of academicians and practitioners who serve as your instructors and intellectual mentors," said **Dr. Lance Betros**, Army War College Provost, to the students in the audience. "They do a magnificent job from year to year."

Awards presented at the ceremony included faculty writing awards, military faculty stabilization, academic promotions and the awarding of academic chairs.

Dr. Jeffrey Groh, Professor of Information and Technology in Warfare, Department of Distance Education, was promoted to Full Professor.

Madigan Writing Awards

The Madigan Award is intended to encourage and recognize published writing on national security issues. The competition is open to all current staff and faculty members of the U.S. Army War College. This year's awards cover articles and books published during the period from May 2011 through April 2012.

"Through this annual competition, the college casts a spotlight on those members of the staff and faculty who have contributed to the body of scholarship on national security affairs," said Betros.

- **Dr. Marybeth Ulrich**, Department of National Security and Strategy, won a 2011-2012 Madigan Award for her article "The General Stanley McChrystal Affair: A Case Study in Civil-Military Relations," that was published in Parameters.
- **Dr. Steven Metz**, Strategic Studies Institute, for his article "Insurgency," that was published in Conceptualising Modern War by Columbia University Press.
- **Prof. Charles Allen**, Department of Command, Leadership and Management, for his article Assessing the Army Profession," published in Parameters. Allen was also the recipient of the Department of the Army Achievement Medal for Civilian Service for his work as a strategist supporting the Training and Doctrine Command Strategic Initiatives Group from January to August 2012.
- **Dr. Clayton K.S. Chun**, Department of Distance Education, for his monograph, *The last boarding party: the USMC and the SS Mayaguez 1975*, was published by Osprey Publishing.Chun also received a second Madigan Award for "The European Campaign: Its Origins and Conduct," published by SSI and co-authored by Dr. Samuel Newland of Washburn University.
- **Dr. Paul Kan**, Department of National Security and Strategy, for his article "What We're Getting Wrong About Mexico," published in Parameters.
- **Dr. Antulio Echevarria, II**, Strategic Studies Institute for his article "American Strategic Culture: Problems and Prospects," was published in The Changing Character of War.

Military faculty stabilization

"Each year, the Army Chief of Staff approves a small number of stabilized positions for military faculty members at the War College," said Betros. "By granting stabilization, we retain on the faculty a core of highly talented military professionals who provide teaching excellence, institutional knowledge, and continuity of academic programs.

This year seven military faculty members were selected:

- Col. Michael Current, director of Strategic Intelligence, Department of Military Strategy, Planning and Operations
- Col. Darrell Fountain, director, first resident course, Department of Distance Education
- Col. Karl Ginter, Director, Instructional Services Group, Department of Distance Education.
- Col. Robert Hamilton, Professor USAWC and Director, Military History, Department of

National Security and Strategy

- Col. Steven Landis, professor USAWC and Director, Command Leadership Instruction, Department of Command Leadership and Management
- Col. Jerome Sibayan, professor U.S. Army War College and Director, Regional Studies, Department of Distance Education
- Col. Tarn Warren, Department of Military Strategy, Planning and Operations (Currently Deployed).

Presentation of Academic Chairs

- Elihu Root Chair of Military Studies Dr. Antulio Echevarria, II
- Admiral William F. Halsey Chair of Naval Studies Cmdr. John Patterson VI
- Harold Keith Johnson Chair of Military History Dr. William Allison
- General Walter Bedell Smith Chair of National Intelligence Studies James Smeltzer
- Defense Intelligence Agency Chair of Defense Intelligence Denis Kaufman
- General Douglas Macarthur Chair of Research Dr. Leonard Wong.

U.S. Army War College Archives - News Article - 18 December 2012