College honors 2010 Award Winners

College honors 2010 Award Winners

The U.S. Army War College gave special honors to 29 members of the Class of 2010 during the graduation ceremony on the Carlisle Barracks parade field today.

Col John Frewen, Australian Army: The 2010 Secretary of Defense National Security Essay Competition (1st place) for -- "Harmonious oceans?: Chinese aircraft carriers and Australia's U.S. alliance"

COL Richard G. Zoller: The 2010 Secretary of Defense National Security Essay Competition (2nd place) for -- "Russian cyberspace strategy and a proposed United States response"

COL Tarn D. Warren: The 2010 Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Strategic Essay Competition (2nd place) for -- "ISAF and Afghanistan: the impact of failure on NATO's future"

LtCol James T. Jenkins II: The AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for – "Terminating peace: Military flexibility during Bosnian reconstruction and stability operations"

COL Carl R. Trout: The AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for – "American war strategy: Restoring coherence and unity of effort"

Cmdr. Mary K. Hallerberg, U.S. Navy: The AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for – "Maritime piracy: Examining the U.S. response to a global threat"

Lt. Col. Lorianne M. Campanella: The AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for – "Moving forward vice straight ahead"

Mr. Ernest E. Rodgers III, DHS: The AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for – "The Army National Guard and the Department of Homeland Security"

Col. Mark W. Lukens: The AWC Foundation Award for Outstanding Strategy Research Paper for – "Strategic analysis of irregular warfare"

Col. Douglas V. Mastriano: The AWC Foundation Personal Experience Monograph Writing Award for – "the last battle of the Argonne: Archeological research and the authenticity of Sergeant Alvin

Lt. Col. Christopher A. Worley, U.S. Air Force: The AWC Foundation Speaking Competition Award for – "Let Iran have the bomb"

Lt. Col. Richard A. Teolis, Jr: The AWC Foundation Anton Myrer Leadership Award for – "A holistic approach to repealing Don't Ask Don't Tell"

Col. Bruce A. Stephens: The COL Don & Mrs Anne Bussey Military Intelligence Writing Award for – "A hedge against politicization: An impartial intelligence community for America"

Brig. Gen. Malik Zafar Iqbal, Pakistan Army: The Dr. John D. Conroy, Jr. Teaching Strategy Group Writing Award for – "US-Pakistan relations: an appraisal of the Afghanistan-Pakistan strategy to counter terrorism"

Col. Scott W. Power: The Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Writing Awards for – "Security force assistance: An enduring U.S. Army structure"

Lt. Col. Early I. Falk, U.S. Army National Guard: The Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Writing Awards for – "Supporting operational National Guard's dual role: Reconsidering Reserve Component categories"

Col. Walter M. Hudson: The COL & Mrs. T. F. Bristol Military History Writing Award for – Occupational pursuits: The Army and World War II occupation planning"

Lt. Col. Ernesto L. Sirvas: The Association of the United States Army (AUSA) Institute for Land Warfare Award for – "Al Qaeda' millenarian doctrine and implications for US policy"

Cmdr. John James Patterson VI, U.S. Navy: The Red River Valley Fighter Pilots Association Writing Award for – "Long-term counterinsurgency strategy: Maximizing Special Operations airpower"

Lt. Col. Dirk E. Plante: The Military Order of the World Wars Writing Award for – Revitalizing the Nuclear Weapons Enterprise"

Lt. Col. Tarn M. Abell, U.S. Air Force Reserve: The Lieutenant General Thomas J. Plewes Reserve Components National Security Strategy Writing Award for – "Arctic security in a warming world"

Col. Ivar S. Tait:The U.S. Military Academy's William E. Simon Center for the Professional Military Ethic (SCPME) Writing Award for – 'Establishing a Middle East Institute for security cooperation'

Chaplain (Col.) Jonathan E. Shaw: The Armed Forces Communications-Electronics Association (AFCEA) Writing Award for – The role of religion in national security policy since 9/11"

Col. Allan L. Webster:The Excellence in Logistics Research or Writing Award for – "The role of the Army in infrastructure and capacity building"

- Lt. Col. Brook J. Leonard, U.S. Air Force: The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for -- "Bargaining theory and building strategies for countering armed groups"
- Lt. Col. Thomas A. Bruno, U.S. Marine Corps: The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Ending an insurgency violently: the Samar and Batangas punitive campaigns"
- Brig. Gen. Naseer Ali Khan, Pakistan Army: The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for "Kashmir dispute: Significance of its early resolution"
- Mr. Paul A. Matus, NSA: The Commandant's Award for Distinction in Research for Strategic impact of cyber warfare rules for the United States"
- Col. Roger L. Shuck, President, Class of 2010: The AWC Alumni Association Lifetime Membership Award

U.S. Army War College Archives - News Article - 12 June 2010