More USAWC Community Information

Carlisle Barracks honors excellence at ceremony

For more photos visit

Army War College and Carlisle Barracks leadership honored more than 20 employees for outstanding service during the Installation Quarterly Awards Ceremony May 15 in the Letort View Community Center.

Maj. Gen. Bill Rapp, Army War College Commandant and Lt. Col. Greg Ank, Garrison Commander, hosted the event to show appreciation for the “heart and soul” of the installation.

“Thank you for the example you set,” said Rapp. “It’s important for us to recognize excellence when we can.”

Rapp compared the honorees to 2-time NBA MVP Steve Nash, who was recognized not just for his skill but for the impact he had on his teammates.

“You all make people around you better,” he said. “It’s not just what you do at your job but what you are giving back. You give more than you take.”

Those recognized were:   


2016 Civilian of the Year: Todd Wheeler, USAG, DPTMS

·        Wheeler established the high-performing Installation Operations Center that provides situation awareness for the command. He also took over the after duty hours watch officer program, improved efficiency, increased the number of duty officers, developed an SOP, expertly trained them and manages it in an effective manner.


FY17 Civilian of the QTR, 1st QTR: Kaleb M. Dissinger, U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center

·        Dissinger was simultaneously the AHEC lead for two critical projects, the World war I Centennial Exhibit and “On Patrol,” the final selection of the immersive Global War on Terror hallway exhibit. He coordinated with the key stakeholders and kept both projects on time and on budget.  

Also nominated were:

·        Mary C. Brown, Educational Technician, Department of Military Strategy, Planning, and Operation, USAWC. 

·        Michael L. Kelly, Supply Technician, Center for Strategic Leadership, USAWC

·        Erica Taylor, Library Technician, Army Heritage and Education Center, USAWC

·        Julie Teague, Operations Specialist, Directorate of Plans, Training, Mobilization and Security, U.S. Army Garrison


FY17 Civilian of the QTR, 2nd QTR: Mr. Dwight Wimer, USAG, PAIO

Also nominated was Mr. Craig Pealer, Military Human Resources Specialist, Directorate of Human Resources, U.S. Army Garrison


FY 17 NCO of the QTR, 2nd QTR: Staff Sgt. Matthew Rosenkranz, Receiving NCOIC, Defense Distribution Supply Point, Defense Logistics Agency, New Cumberland, PA


FY 17 Soldier of the QTR, 2nd QTR: Private 1st Class Daysaundra Price, Chaplain’s Assistant, HHD, U.S. Army Garrison Carlisle Barracks


Special Awards:

·        Lynn Snyder, G8/DRM- Superior Civilian Service Award

o   Snyder was recognized for his work from June 2014 to May 2017 as the Assistant Chief of Staff, G-8 (Resource Management).

·        Jeffrey Hanks, USAG, DFMWR, ACS – Commanders Award for Civilian Service

o   Hanks for recognized for his service while serving on the Army Employment Readiness Program Advisory Group, IMCOM G9, Family and Morale, Welfare and Recreation Directorate, specifically for his development of the Employment Readiness and Military Spouse transition curriculum.  

·        Sgt 1st Class Mia D. Gillens, USAWC, SHARP- Meritorious Service Medal

o   Gillens was recognized for her service as the Sexual Assault Response Coordinator for the Army War College and Carlisle Barracks. Her outstanding leadership, commendable initiative and total dedication to duty are in keeping with the finest traditions of military service.   

·        Genevieve K. Hobson, USAWC, DCLM- Achievement Medal for Civilian Service

o   Hobson was recognized for her work from November 2016 to May 2017 where she supported the department as credit card holder and served as a “utility infielder’ while DCLMs Administrative Support Assistant was detailed to the Chief of Staff’s office, all while providing planning and logistical support to the National Security Staff Ride #3.

·        Donna Jones, USAG, Office of the Commander- Achievement Medal for Civilian Service

o   Jones was recognized for exceptional performance while serving as the Relocation Readiness and Mobilization and Deployment Program manager in Army Community Services. She developed the “Relocation One Stop” event for Army War College students and their families.    

·        Marivic A. Jones, USAWC, DCLM- Achievement Medal for Civilian Service

o   Jones was recognized for her work between November 2016 and May 2017 as she provided oversight of the budget, managed GFEBS and processed dozens of student and faculty TDYs through DTS. She was selected to serve as the Administrative Support Assistant for the Chief of Staff for 90 days and continued to help DCLM while her position was vacant.


Jim Thorpe Sports Days Recognition for DFMWR employees(Sports Event Support):

·        Don Watkins

·        Ann Miller

·        Sue Bower

·        Chad Johnson

·        Jimmy Price

·        Regina Franke

·        Sam Landis

·        Angelina Davis

·        Loren Rovegno

·        Nate Wright

·        Bruce Nielson

·        Al Flick

·        Steve Schroeder

·        Tashelle Millwood