More USAWC Community Information

Update: Pennsylvania granted limited extension for REAL ID enforcement to June 6, 2017

Jan. 19, 2017 -- UPDATE: According to the Department of Homeland Security’s webpage, Pennsylvania has a limited extension for REAL ID enforcement, allowing Federal agencies to accept driver's licenses from Pennsylvania until June 6, 2017.

Find the most current information concerning state-by-state compliance with the REAL ID Act -- HTTPS://WWW.DHS.GOV/CURRENT-STATUS-STATES-TERRITORIES


Visitors - Have a Pa. license? Make sure to secondary form of ID starting Jan. 30

Jan. 13, 2017 -- Starting January 30, this year, federal agencies and nuclear power plants may not accept for official purposes driver’s licenses and state IDs from a noncompliant state/territory without an extension. This will affect visitors to Carlisle Barracks.

Pennsylvania is currently among those states not in compliance with the 2005 Real ID Act, which requires "enhanced drivers licenses" to be issued by all states and US territories.

DoD identification cards meet the enhanced ID requirements.

Visitors who do not hold DoD ID cards, nor an enhanced driver ID from another state, will be asked for a secondary form of identification, selected from this list:

  • U.S. passport
  • Current car registration, proof of insurance or vehicle title
    Credit/Debit Card
  • Health/Dental Insurance Card
  • Medicare Card
  • Veterans Service Organization Card (VFW, AL, AMVETS etc.)
  • VA Health/Prescription card
  • Concealed Carry Weapons Permit
  • Sams/Cosco/BJ's membership etc. Card
  • Library Card
  • Security Clearance Badge
  • Building Badge
  • Employment/Company ID card
  • Student ID
  • SSN Card
  • Hunting/Fishing License
  • Union Membership Card
  • Professional License (Pilot, Beautician, Mechanic etc.)
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Selective Service Card
  • DD214/215
  • Birth/Baptism Certificate
  • School Transcript
  • Marriage Certificate
  • Pay Stub
  • Utility Bill
  • DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
  • U.S. military ID (active duty or retired military and their dependents, and DoD civilians)
  • Permanent resident card
  • Border crossing card
  • DHS-designated enhanced driver's license
  • Airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)
  • Federally recognized, tribal-issued photo ID
  • HSPD-12 PIV card
  • Foreign government-issued passport
  • Canadian provincial driver's license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada card
  • Transportation worker identification credential
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
  • U.S. Merchant Mariner Credential

A complete list of secondary identification means can be found here.

The REAL ID Act, passed by the United States Congress in 2005, enacted the 9/11 Commission’s recommendation that the Federal Government “set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses.” The Act established minimum security standards for license issuance and production and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for certain purposes driver’s licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the Act’s minimum standards.  The purposes covered by the Act are: accessing Federal facilities, entering nuclear power plants, and, no sooner than 2016, boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft. 

Starting January 22, 2018, driver's licenses issued by non-compliant states will no longer be accepted at TSA checkpoints.

Find the most current information concerning state-by-state compliance with the REAL ID Act -- HTTPS://WWW.DHS.GOV/CURRENT-STATUS-STATES-TERRITORIES